Topic

Enlightened quilt-NC mountains

Forum Posting

A Membership is required to post in the forums. Login or become a member to post in the member forums!

Home Forums Gear Forums Gear (General) Enlightened quilt-NC mountains

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 23 posts - 1 through 23 (of 23 total)
  • Author
    a johnston

@athanasius

i'm new to light weight camping. always slept with a hand-me-down worn out down bag and wool blankets. so i don't know anything about temp ratings and such.

I will be doing most of my hiking in the Blue Ridge mountains of western NC…and maybe up the App. trail.
    mainly fall months…some winter.
    i'm looking at the Enlightened quilts…trying to decide between Revelation and Revelation X. is it humid enough around those parts that i might need the 20D nylon Revelation for the extra water-proofing? i also will be camping on islands off of south georgia where i live in the fall and winter…so maybe the extra waterproofing would be better?

are the temps on the quilts exact? or do i add 10-20 degrees?
    i think i'm looking at either the 10 degree or the 20 degree overstuffed. does that sound about right for NC mountains?
    thanks
    andrew

Mathew MacDonald
    BPL Member

@kaymat

Locale: Alaska

My 20 degree with overfill is true to it's temperature rating. I almost regret getting 20 with overfill rather than the 20 degree. So much loft!

a johnston

@athanasius

anyone have the rev. standard have any thoughts?
    seems most go with the rev x.

Jeff M.
    BPL Member

@catalyst

I own a Revelation X winter quilt (0*) and recently ordered the 20* standard Revelation. Most order the X because its a screamin' bargain. I ordered the standard because I wanted a bit more wind protection for times I use it without any other protection other than a tarp. If you're thinking mostly fall/winter use, I'd consider the standard vs. X, unless you plan on using it with a bivy or enclosed tent.

a johnston

@athanasius