Topic

About to make my first quilt and need advice

Forum Posting

A Membership is required to post in the forums. Login or become a member to post in the member forums!

Home Forums Gear Forums Make Your Own Gear About to make my first quilt and need advice

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 5 posts - 1 through 5 (of 5 total)
  • Author
    Amy Lauterbach
    BPL Member

@drongobird

Locale: San Francisco Bay Area

Jim and I have been using down double top-quilt for 25+ years. The first two were hacked rectangular sleeping bags. The one we currently use is a 10 year old custom Nunatak back-country blanket which I tweaked. I'm ready to build a new one that incorporates a few improvements, including lighter shell fabric.

I've got enough experience using double quilts to know what dimensions and features I want. I've done enough sewing to think I can do this without creating a total disaster, but not so much skill that I'm not nervous :)

I've been reading old threads about making quilts, and have gleaned a lot of useful information. Now I'd like advice. For reference, we sleep in a traditional double-walled tent in night-time temps ranging from 25 to 55.

First question… After reading all the threads I could find on fabric options, I'm planning to use M50 for the shell and Nobull (aka 8D, EightD) for the liner, as recommended by Aaron Sorensen in a recent thread. Is there a compelling reason to use a different combo? I fear that I may have missed threads discussing advantages and disadvantages.