Topic

Big shoes and a backpack for long backs

Forum Posting

A Membership is required to post in the forums. Login or become a member to post in the member forums!

Home Forums Gear Forums Gear (General) Big shoes and a backpack for long backs

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 10 posts - 1 through 10 (of 10 total)
  • Author
    Hans Kristoffer Graff

@boffen

Hi,

I'm just getting into backpacking and camping, but I've been lucky enough to borrow or use a bunch of old gear that my family has had laying around, so I've avoided going through a bunch of heavy packs and tents and all the other stuff you typically spend your money on before you decide to go lightweight.

In the last couple of weeks I've spent countless hours watching youtube videos and reading blog posts about gear of every kind. Like I mentioned all of the stuff I currently use is old or borrowed, and sooner or later I'm going to have to buy pretty much all the gear you use for camping. Of the items on the "sooner" list is most notably a backpack and a pair of shoes. My problem is that I have huge (size 13, sometimes larger, depending on the shoe), flat feet, and a long back.

Almost all of the recommended shoes I've read about don't come in sizes larger than a 12, so I'm not really sure where to look or what brands/models I should be looking at. Even though my feet are flat, I don't seem to have a need for special insoles or anything like that. However, with flatness comes wideness, so I need a wider model. I don't really care if they are hiking shoes or trail runners, seeing as I've only had experience with regular running shoes and mountain boots from before, so I'll just have to check if I like them when I get them. Also, I'm vegan, so no leather please!