Topic

Mini bic & Light My Fire questions

Forum Posting

A Membership is required to post in the forums. Login or become a member to post in the member forums!

Home Forums Gear Forums Gear (General) Mini bic & Light My Fire questions

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 25 posts - 1 through 25 (of 29 total)
  • Author
    Eileen Duncan
    BPL Member

@eileensd

Locale: The Sierra or the SF Bay Area

How many uses in a mini bic?

For 4-5 day trips, I generally pack whatever partially full bic(s) I have lying around and they do just fine. But I'm about to do the JMT (longest leg will be 9 or 10 days, and I'll use the lighter 2-3/day), and I just realized I have no idea whether a single mini bic will do. How many uses do you get out of a mini bic?

Light My Fire – what am I doing wrong?

For back up, I'm thinking of bringing a Light My Fire FireSteel. I've never used this method before, so I just tested it out with my alcohol stove (AntiGravity Gear) in the backyard. I put alcohol in the stove and in the primer pan and went to work with the steel. Some of the black paint scraped off the steel and then I saw sparks, but NO FIRE :( I tried a bunch of times – holding the steel at a varying distances (2-6 inches) from the primer pan/stove each time. A couple of times I pulled the steel back toward me, and I also tried by moving the striker down the steel. Each time, there were a few sparks but the alcohol didn't catch. I have no idea what I'm doing wrong. Maybe not enough sparks? How hard to you have to press? How far from the fuel should I hold the steel?

Thanks to my mini bic, I'll now enjoy some Annie's mac 'n' cheese as I await your responses ;)

Thanks!

EndoftheTrail
    BPL Member

@ben2world-2

I've been using mini BIC's for years now, and while I haven't done any scientific tests, each one lasts quite a long time — certainly more than 9-10 days of routine use. But regardless, I always bring two with me – the second as backup.

Bill Mason

@billiii