Topic

Advice with respect to sewing nylon

Forum Posting

A Membership is required to post in the forums. Login or become a member to post in the member forums!

Home Forums Gear Forums Make Your Own Gear Advice with respect to sewing nylon

Viewing 11 posts - 1 through 11 (of 11 total)
  • Author
    Mike R

@redpoint

Locale: British Columbia

Hi Everyone.

I'm fairly new to sewing [a couple of months now]. So far so good. I just have a few questions regarding current projects that hopefully someone might be able to answer. I'm currently using a Sailrite LSZ1 sewing machine.

1] Well camping with a friend a few weeks back, we tore his 30D ripstop Integral Designs Siltarp [adjacent to one of the tie-out points]. I told him I'd reinforce all the tie-outs. I've cut a bunch of triangles which I'm going to sew to the canopy at each anchor/tie-out point. Then I'll re-sew the tie-out to the triangle. Question: these materials are super slippery, I'm petrified that I'm going to make a mess. Should I 'glue' [i.e. baste] the triangles down first prior to sewing? I suspect this might make it a lot easier to sew? This will be a lot of work, but I need the practice. I was going to sew the triangle patches on using a #12 needle, V30 Poly thread, and a zig-zag stitch. Any advice here?

2] I would like to attempt gluing 420D coated pack material [not unlike what Arc'teryx does with their AC2 packs]. Could someone recommend a brand/type of adhesive that would be used for this type of assembly. I'd also like to try gluing a H20 resistant zipper into the same pack. I remember reading about the type of adhesive Arc'teryx uses, but cannot, for the life of me, find the article.

3] I've been doing a bit of research into sourcing materials. What's the best/cheapest place to order Cordura brand 30D sil nylon? Any Canadian sources? There's a place I use in Vancouver, but it's way too expensive [e.g. $24/m for 1.5 oz sil nylon].

That's it for now – thank you.

Michael Pappas

@mpap89