Topic

Fast packing Quilt

Forum Posting

A Membership is required to post in the forums. Login or become a member to post in the member forums!

Home Forums Gear Forums Make Your Own Gear Fast packing Quilt

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 9 posts - 1 through 9 (of 9 total)
  • Author
    Garrett
    BPL Member

@sope0021

I'm looking to make a super light, but even more importantly, small and super packable quilt, mainly for summer use in Minnesota and Wisconsin. I'm looking at nighttime temperatures in the 60s. I will be using the quilt inside a bivy. I have some experience making synthetic quilts, but I'm thinking to go with some amount of down and M50.

I have two questions. First, how little down can I use and still create an advantage over a few layers of M50? I'm doing one to two night trips where covering a lot of miles quickly and easily is more important to me than being totally comfortable, but if I can make a quilt that will pack down small and still be warmer than a sleeping bag liner, I'd love to do it. Second, how small can I expect a very light down/M50 quilt to pack down to? I've been carrying a Lafuma 40 degree down bag that when in its stuff sack is somewhere between a softball and a football. How much smaller than this is possible in a quilt?

Thanks

Jerry Adams
    BPL Member

@retiredjerry

Locale: Oregon and Washington

I think maybe if you use less down, you want the baffle width to be less.

Like, if you wanted a loft of 1/2 inch, you'de want the baffle width to be 1 or 2 inches.

I'de like to know if someone more knowledgeable has an opinion.

Steve C

@smit

Locale: sierra nevada

If it is that warm at night and space is that big of a concern, how about sleeping in your clothes along with a space blanket? Save you some money also.
    Steve

Garrett
    BPL Member

@sope0021

I've thought about doing that. Honestly, I had to ask about making a quilt just because I like the process of MYOG as much as the actual running/backpacking.