Topic

the DIY Gear Scramble-a-Thon!

Forum Posting

A Membership is required to post in the forums. Login or become a member to post in the member forums!

Home Forums Gear Forums Make Your Own Gear the DIY Gear Scramble-a-Thon!

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 20 posts - 1 through 20 (of 20 total)
  • Author
    Aaron J
    BPL Member

@lightwalker

Locale: Boulder, CO

Hello friends!
    I'm new to BPL.com, and this is my first post. I'm a 26 yo man, living in Boulder, CO, and recently I lost my job and have been floating in the world (with the good graces of so much support, fiancée included), and spending much of my time doing what pleases me, which is crafting. Perhaps crafting isn't the right word… I dabble somewhere between crafting (which suggests needlework and ceramic figurines) and construction (which suggests slabs of concrete and I-beams). I make things like wool tunics, wood tables, and blow-dart guns, and a few weeks ago I invented a board game to teach sailing skills. Most recently I've gotten into DIY backpacking gear, but without going much farther than the design phase on most projects. Then a light came on somewhere in the recesses of my angst-filled unemployed brain and I saw a brilliant new future! One of 500 epic miles, spanning from Durango to Denver, Colorado. That's right, solo hiking the Colorado Trail. And my plan is to make it all possible with 7 DIY gear projects, all aimed at creating a "moderately" priced ultralight kit for high elevation. And, because this isn't enough challenge, I will be assembling this slue of gear, testing it moderately, and betting my life on it by the end of three weeks. Three weeks! Am I crazy?