Topic

Bivy as stuff sack for down quilt?

Forum Posting

A Membership is required to post in the forums. Login or become a member to post in the member forums!

Home Forums General Forums SuperUltraLight (SUL) Backpacking Discussion Bivy as stuff sack for down quilt?

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 11 posts - 1 through 11 (of 11 total)
  • Author
    John Doe
    BPL Member

@jessearl

I did a 2 day/28 mile hike this weekend in the Ocala National Forest an am thinking about how to improve the experience for next time gear wise.

I was using a couple of kitchen garbage bags to keep my JRB quilt dry in my G4 pack. I had initially setup my Golite poncho as a tarp shelter but it looked like rain and I'm new to tarp camping so I setup a much larger tarp that I had brought and slept under that.

I'd like to ditch the much larger and heavier tarp on my next trip and give the poncho another shot as my shelter. But I think I want to use a bivy underneath it to better protect my quilt from the rain.

Back to the thread title.

After I purchase a bivy, for example a MLD Superlight Bivy, could I stuff my quilt into the bottom of the bivy, roll it up and then stuff it in the bottom of the pack? Would the outside fabric of the bivy protect the quilt while hiking?

Stephen M
    BPL Member

@stephen-m

Locale: Way up North

Hi John,

It did this on a few trips but with a Waterproof bivy and it worked Ok.

Cheers,

Mary D
    BPL Member

@hikinggranny

Locale: Gateway to Columbia River Gorge

The bivy would have to be completely waterproof and seam-sealed to keep your quilt dry. Of course then it will be wet inside from condensation!

Inaki Diaz de Etura
    BPL Member

@inaki-1

Locale: Iberia highlands

not only that, you'll need the bivy to be as dry as possible when packing, inside and out. Even if the bivy is waterproof, compression would force any remaining humidity in. Waterproofness is always a relative term.

Bryce
    BPL Member

@antigroundhogday

Locale: Stamford, CT