Topic

wood stove

Forum Posting

A Membership is required to post in the forums. Login or become a member to post in the member forums!

Home Forums Gear Forums Make Your Own Gear wood stove

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 19 posts - 1 through 19 (of 19 total)
  • Author
    Douglas Hus

@hustler

Locale: Ontario, Canada

Any designs for a light weight wood stoves out there?
    i.e., like the bush buddy.

Steve .

@pappekak

Locale: Tralfamadore
    Gene .

@tracker

Locale: New England

Yeah, I'm busy working on converting a quart size new paint can into one.

Steve .

@pappekak

Locale: Tralfamadore

I thought a quart paint can would be the perfect size to. Let us know how it works out.

Miguel Arboleda
    BPL Member

@butuki

Locale: Kanto Plain, Japan

This thread took place quite a while back:

Homemade Downdraft Gassifier Wood Burning Stove

Scott White

@sdwhitey

Locale: Smoky Mountains

I just built a wood burning stove. I am fairly new to UL backpacking and this is my first MYOG project.

I dont know if it technically counts as a downdraft gassifier but it weighs just over an ounce (35 grams, not including the GG ti stakes, I would carry these anyways for my tarp). I tested the stove this evening and was able to boil a pint of water in about 9 minutes.

I would love to get one of those bush buddys but I just dont have the money in my backpacking budget at this point in time. I am hoping to use this type of stove as an affordable substitute.

The stove is based on the design of Mark Jurey at:

http://www.csun.edu/~mjurey/pennywood.html

I made the stove from a standard 14.5 oz can of green beans and added 3 GG ti stakes to serve as a pot stand.

I plan to try it out in the field later this spring and will be practicing my fire building techniques at home to make sure I can use the stove in a variety of weather conditions.

Ive included a few pictures of the stove.

wood stove

wood stove in action

bottom of wood stove

Sam Haraldson
    BPL Member