Topic

Rain / Wind Layer

Forum Posting

A Membership is required to post in the forums. Login or become a member to post in the member forums!

Home Forums Gear Forums Multiple Use Gear Rain / Wind Layer

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 4 posts - 1 through 4 (of 4 total)
  • Author
    David Harrison

@dmh1974

Locale: Alaska Interior

curious as to everyones thoughts on this… Im a bit new to the scene… is there any difference between a wind pant/top and a rain pant/top ? they seem to be the same… am I missing something ? or can these 2 areas be combined into one ?

paul johnson

@pj

Locale: LazyBoy in my Den - miss the forest

Yes.

Wind-gear is often only partially or semi water REPELLENT. Depending upon the fabric used and how its treated to resist water penetration, wind-gear may only provide 10-20 minutes typically of water resistance in light to moderate rain. Some HIGHLY water resistent wind gear, Epic finished/treated fabrics may survive several hours of moderate to heavy rain, but will eventually wet out/through. Raingear, on the other hand, is generally WATERPROOF (vs. merely resistant), but, typically, at the expense of breathability. So, in high activity endeavors, one can expect to get wet from the INSIDE, i.e. fr/one's own sweat – though this is true of windgear also, but perhaps to a lesser extent in some cases.

Also, windgear is generally much lighter weight than raingear and the fabrics softer to the touch due to lack of a WPB (water-proof breathable) membrane.

There is also WP (water-proof) materials like that used in most ponchos and capes that doesn't "breathe" at all.

The above represents a summation of the characteristics of the wind & rain gear, generally/cateogorically speaking, that i'm familiar with.

Jason Shaffer

@pa_jay

Locale: on the move....

Welcome David,