Topic

Winter Sleeping System?

Forum Posting

A Membership is required to post in the forums. Login or become a member to post in the member forums!

Home Forums Gear Forums Gear (General) Winter Sleeping System?

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 13 posts - 1 through 13 (of 13 total)
  • Author
    Chad Miller

@chadnsc

Locale: Duluth, Minnesota

I am currently working on my gear list for a winter though hike of the Superior Hiking trail in northern Minnesota. I am new to winter backpacking and would appreciate some feedback and tips of my proposed sleeping system. I am expecting temperatures to be in the 0-15 degree range for my trip next February (averages are in the 5-10 degree range).

Montbell-U.L. Super Stretch Down Hugger #1, Long. 15 degrees, 2 lbs. 7 oz.

Jacks 'R' Better Shennandoah Summer Quilt, Long. 45 degrees, 1 lbs. 0 oz.

Integral Designs, Buagaboo Bivy. eVent, 1 lbs. 1 oz.

Therm-a-Rest Pro Light 4 Sleeping Pad, large, 2 lbs. 1 oz.

Diana R
    BPL Member

@mysticmoose-2

Locale: Great Lakes region

Instead of the Prolite 3 large, I'd consider using a "short" length pad with a smaller sit pad to cushion/insulate your legs. Personally, I use an Exped Downmat 7 short combined with a 10" x 20" blue foam sit pad and my empty pack under my legs. There are lighter options than mine, but it's extremely comfortable and warm. It also weighs right around 28 oz. A lighter option would be a TorsoLight pad with a full-length GG Thinlite underneath.

Chad Miller

@chadnsc

Ah, I wish I could use the short pads but they are too narrow for my shoulders. I need a pad that is at least 22" wide or my shoulder blades are on the ground. I wish someone made a 24" wide short pad.

Eric Noble
    BPL Member

@ericnoble

Locale: Colorado Rockies