Topic

reflectix as a wind screen for cat can stove?

Forum Posting

A Membership is required to post in the forums. Login or become a member to post in the member forums!

Home Forums Gear Forums Make Your Own Gear reflectix as a wind screen for cat can stove?

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 8 posts - 1 through 8 (of 8 total)
  • Author
    Greg Wilferth

@pintoadk

Locale: Rochester NY

I wasn't sure weather to put this thread under multiple use gear or MYOG, because its a little of both. anyways i am making a pot cozie out of reflectix for my SP trek 700 pot. I've been thinking about making a 2 part design with a removable bottom so i can use the part of reflectix that will wrap around the side of the cup as a wind screen while i cook. when i am done cooking i will be able to attach the bottom piece and make the side piece fit the cup with velcro. I have never worked with reflectix before so i am wondering how it will stand up the the heat of my cat can stove. if it is going to get ruined after a few uses i will just carry my old wind screen and make normal one piece cozie. any info on reflectix or this idea would be appreciated, thanks!
    -Greg

John Donewar
    BPL Member

@newton

Locale: Southeastern Texas

Hi Greg,

The idea of dual use on any piece of gear is a good way to lighten the pack load.

When I first read your post the first thought that came to my mind was wind. You are talking about using reflectix as a windscreen material. This material is inherently light.

Will the wind move around your cozy / windscreen and push it too close to the heat of the stove's heat and flame?

The shiny side will definitely reflect the heat but I wonder about the plastic bubbles in-between the two shiny sides. Will they survive the proximity to the heat of the stove. Your air gap and stability will be critical.