Topic

Question about cuben kilt drawstring.

Forum Posting

A Membership is required to post in the forums. Login or become a member to post in the member forums!

Home Forums Gear Forums Make Your Own Gear Question about cuben kilt drawstring.

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 11 posts - 1 through 11 (of 11 total)
  • Author
    James Reilly
    Spectator

@zippymorocco

Locale: Montana

I am making a cuben rain kilt. Does anyone have a suggestion on how a drawstring would install. I am new to MYOG and would appreciate any help/suggestions. Thank you.

John Donewar
    BPL Member

@newton

Locale: Southeastern Texas

James,

Read Jay Ham's article on MYOG stuff sacks and adapt his instructions for the drawstring channel in the stuff sack to your kilt project.

You must be logged in as it is members only content.

http://www.backpackinglight.com/cgi-bin/backpackinglight/make_your_own_gear_5_yards_to_sul_part_2.html

I would assume that you just won't close up the bottom or sew up the side seam to create your kilt.

I hope that this helps.

Party On,

Newton

James Reilly
    Spectator

@zippymorocco

Thank you Newton,

I do understand the channel and have made some stuff sacks.
    My problem is that the kilt is not a tube but a wrap. Would I permanently tie off one side and then have the other side pull through an eyelet on the front secured with a line?

Thanks again

Michael Duke

@mpd1690

Sew the kilt as though you did not have a drawstring, but with an extra 1 1/2" to 2" at the top. Once everything is sewn, mark where to add a grommet and add it. Fold over the top for a channel and sew. Use a bodkin and run a cord through the channel.

John Donewar
    BPL Member

@newton

+1 for Michael's idea.

FWIW I did an image search and found this…

CloudKilt

…the drawstring appears to exit in the front using a cord lock to maintain the adjustment. From what I see in the picture the over wrapped portion is secured with a length of velcro or omni tape.