Topic

NE-VT/NH/NY Ideas?

Forum Posting

A Membership is required to post in the forums. Login or become a member to post in the member forums!

Home Forums Campfire Trip Planning NE-VT/NH/NY Ideas?

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 6 posts - 1 through 6 (of 6 total)
  • Author
    Ryan W

@mwilks

I'm a new resident of Vermont and have little knowledge of trip ideas in this locale.

I have a week off in early April and am looking for suggestions on regions, trailheads to explore.

Ideally within 5hours driving of NE Vermont
    Less people
    Not too high so I can avoid icy conditions. I can pick up some microspikes if needed.
    Possible loop or side trips would be ideal so as to avoid having to do a 2-3 day out and 2-3 day back. Shuttle is unlikely.
    Not sure what terrain/conditions and speed equation are like out here. For comparison sake 20mi Sierra days were my routine but gradschool has punished my fitness.

Ideas?

Thanks a bunch. I hope to at some point get out on a NE meetup.

Gerry Volpe

@gvolpe

Locale: Vermont

This is a crazy weather year, Tuesday I was at about 3000 feet on the Kancamangus Highway in NH's white mountiains and there was barely even patches of snow on north facing slopes. I hiked some low elevation trails over on the NH/ME border and the trails were dry as a bone, no mud to be seen. Even given the strange spring I would avoid the Long Trail because of the GMCs policies. A great area to check out would be the Pemigawasset Wilderness, Lincoln Woods trailhead in NH. There are great loops to be made over there. Low loops are possible as long as the river is fordable. You can even test out the waters on the higher terrain and go up the Bonds (great views) and look at linking the higher ridges. There are plenty of different options and bail out points. I'd consider heading over there with whatever time you have and some micro spikes and plan multiple options and see where you get. Enjoy and welcome to VT.

Ryan W

@mwilks

Thanks Gerry