Topic

Kid’s Sleeping Bag

Forum Posting

A Membership is required to post in the forums. Login or become a member to post in the member forums!

Home Forums Gear Forums Gear (General) Kid’s Sleeping Bag

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 7 posts - 1 through 7 (of 7 total)
  • Author
    Herman
    BPL Member

@hre814

Locale: Alaska

Was looking at getting my 8 year old daughter a new down sleeping bag. Her heavier REI synthetic that we've used the last two years is going to her younger brother. Was looking at something in the 20-30 degree range (most of all our backpacking/camping will be in Alaska). I'm going with down because of the weight, as she is responsible with not getting things wet and she carries all her own gear. Looking for a bag she can use for the next several years.

Was looking for your suggestions. Go with a women's full size bag? I was looking at a Montbell Spiral Down Hugger (#3 I think, the 30 degree one), as I have a 40 degree one that I like. I also have a Marmot Hydrogen 30.

I appreciate any help, wisdom, and direction!

Herman
    BPL Member

@hre814

Forgot, I'm not too concerned with price.

Dan Cherry

@risingsun

Locale: Northern Arizona

I bought regular size 40 degree Montbell down UL bags for my girls (8 and 12) when they were on sale and will let them grow into them. Went with high quality bags to keep weight down for them, and they absolutely love having nice bags like mom & dad. Yeah, it was a splurge for us, but having good quality gear helps to keep them excited about being out and enjoying the outdoors. Plus, I don't replace it when they grow. For our 8-year-old, I scrunch off the footbox as these bags have that feature built in.