Topic

Spring backpacking in Colorado

Forum Posting

A Membership is required to post in the forums. Login or become a member to post in the member forums!

Home Forums General Forums General Lightweight Backpacking Discussion Spring backpacking in Colorado

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 9 posts - 1 through 9 (of 9 total)
  • Author
    Peter Jacobs

@pjac1

Can someone recommend a good overnight trail(s) at lower altitudes in Colorado (preferably near Denver within a couple hours) that would be good the first week in April this year, 2012? I'm a novice backpacker and have two 12 year old boys with me. We're all in good shape. Thanks!

Tim Drescher
    BPL Member

@timdcy

Locale: Gore Range

I did an overnight trip last year in fall on the Beaver Brook/Judy Gaskill trail system which is located near Evergreen. The trailhead is very easy to get to, and there shouldn't be too much snow in the area… some of the front-rangers here may be able to say otherwise.

Not much in the way of wilderness, but the trail is pretty fun and you get some pretty good views of the Denver skyline. Here's a link:

http://www.trimbleoutdoors.com/ViewTrip/370976

Randy Nelson
    BPL Member

@rlnunix

Locale: Rockies

Not much snow right now so that might be a good choice. It will depend on the weather between now and then. I really couldn't think of anyplace to go in April in a normal year.

Luke Schmidt
    BPL Member

@cameron

Locale: Alaska

Lost Creek Wilderness has some lower elevation areas on the eastern side. Aprial is still pretty early though.
    If there is snow here are a couple tips.
    1. The trail will vanish at some point. Be ready to use a map and compass or be willing to turn back if you honesty aren't comfortable with it. Lost Creek isn't really mountaineering country but there are some rugged areas and I almost got in trouble a couple times in the snow.