Topic

Hiking Lost Coast Trail, C.A

Forum Posting

A Membership is required to post in the forums. Login or become a member to post in the member forums!

Home Forums General Forums General Lightweight Backpacking Discussion Hiking Lost Coast Trail, C.A

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 24 posts - 1 through 24 (of 24 total)
  • Author
    Lauren Watwood

@laurenwatwood

Hey hey fellow packers,

I'm new to backpacking and am unbelievably excited to get started on a 24 mi. trip along the Lost Coast Wilderness Area in Humboldt County. It begins in Mattole Beach and ends Ferndale. I'm wandering if anyone has done the trip themselves and may shed light as to what to expect and or what I ought to bring. Also! I'm looking to bum a ride back to the car in Mattole Beach at the end if anyone lives in the area and finds themselves with nothing better to do on a Friday afternoon on March 30, 2012.

Thanks so much for your help!

Lauren

Angus A.
    BPL Member

@mangus7175

Locale: http://theshadedtrail.blogspot.com
    Ike Jutkowitz
    BPL Member

@ike

Locale: Central Michigan

Hi Lauren,
    Looks like a great trip. It's usually easier to try to bum a ride at the start of the trip from your car to the trailhead. Then you can just walk to your car at your own pace and not have to wait for a ride or keep your ride waiting. Wish I could help you out but am obviously in the wrong state. Good luck.

Ken Thompson
    BPL Member

@here

Locale: Right there

OK Let me help some here. Mattole is the start of the trail at the north end. Mattole is an hour and 15 minutes from Ferndale. It is not even close to Arcata.. let alone Arcadia. The trail goes south and ends, this section anyways, at Shelter Cove. It is an hour and forty minutes drive from one trailhead to the other.

It is a great experience out there and I'm sure you can have a good time.

Start reading this… http://www.blm.gov/ca/st/en/fo/arcata/kingrange/index.html

You will need a bear canister per person.