Topic

First lightweight Tent, help!!

Forum Posting

A Membership is required to post in the forums. Login or become a member to post in the member forums!

Home Forums Gear Forums Gear (General) First lightweight Tent, help!!

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 15 posts - 1 through 15 (of 15 total)
  • Author
    Mr Hugo

@hselbie

Hello All,

This is my first time posting, but basically I am in the market for a sub 3 lbs, double wall, 3 season tent. The occupants, would be me (6ft 180 lbs) and a girlfriend who is both smaller and lighter (wouldn't be so crass as to post her weight), so 2 or 3 person.

I've been recommended a double wall tent because of condensation issues with single walls. I'm not really interested in a tarp because of bug issues and me being a little bit simple when it comes to setting up camp.

The tent will be used mostly for 3 – 7 night trips in the sierras during the summer although might extend to some shoulder season or good weather winter camping (i.e. snow issues).

I've been looking online and found the Nemo Meta 2p (single walled) supposedly has condensation issues. Big Agnes Fly Creek UL3 (remarkably expensive,but supposed to be good) and the TarpTent Stratospire 2 (my current favorite).

Does anyone have any experience with these and if so were they good? bad?
    Thoughts about trekking pole tents? e.g. if you set up a base camp and want the poles?
    Condensation in any of them?
    Silnylon?

I don't know that much so any help is appreciated.

Diana Nevins
    BPL Member

@artemis

Locale: Great Plains

I can't say much about the Nemo tent, as I've never seen one, but both the Big Agnes Fly Creek and the TarpTent Stratospire 2 have good reputations. One obvious difference between the two is that the fly Creek is front entry, and the Stratospire is side entry. Do you have a preference?

What are your concerns regarding silnylon? Anything specific?