Topic

Calculations for Tent Poles

Forum Posting

A Membership is required to post in the forums. Login or become a member to post in the member forums!

Home Forums Gear Forums Make Your Own Gear Calculations for Tent Poles

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 25 posts - 1 through 25 (of 36 total)
  • Author
    Liam de la Bedoyere

@liambedoyere

Hi everyone

My name is Liam and I am designing a small 2 man tent for a project but I need to show some math calculations showing how much stress and strain there is on my tent poles.

I assume that it depends on the length and the angles that they are at but if anyone has some suggestions or accurate equations that you think would help me I would be very much appreciative.

Liam

Ben H.
    BPL Member

@bzhayes

Locale: No. Alabama

I haven't looked at this stuff since I was an undergrad, but this is the beam equation:

Beam deflection equation

Most undergrad textbooks assume small deflections so the bottom right side of the equation is neglected. Unfortunately, a tent pole does not undergo small deflections, so most standard solutions can't be used. Hopefully someone else around here has more experience and can give you a better answer. If you don't get a better answer and the above equation does not scare you too much, then let me know and we can try to move forward.

Kevin Beeden
    BPL Member

@captain_paranoia

Locale: UK

> Unfortunately, a tent pole does not undergo small deflections, so most standard solutions can't be used.

Not only that, but it's supporting a stressed membrane (assuming it's a flexi-pole, geodesic tent), which adds to the problem of trying to identify the bent pole shape and loading.

Having figured out that I couldn't figure out what the pole shape ought to be, I gave up analytical methods of designing tent panels, and went empirical…

If the OP figures out the maths, please post a thread on it; it would be very welcome…

Ben H.
    BPL Member

@bzhayes