Topic

Decisions Decisions… m4/3 vs NEX

Forum Posting

A Membership is required to post in the forums. Login or become a member to post in the member forums!

Home Forums Off Piste Photography Decisions Decisions… m4/3 vs NEX

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 25 posts - 1 through 25 (of 27 total)
  • Author
    Nico .
    BPL Member

@nickb

Locale: Los Padres National Forest

Okay, I could use some help or at least differing viewpoints on the positives and negatives of the various camera choices out there…

I've been shooting with a Canon G10 for the last 5 years or so. It was my first real digital camera (previously coming from a Nikon SLR) and was, at the time, my compromise solution between the portability and carrying ease of a small P&S and the greater creative freedom and image quality of a SLR. Overall it's been okay… the portability has been nice but the image quality and lack of full DSLR capabilities has bothered and at times limited me.

I'm finally in the position to get a new camera. I'm mainly focusing my attention on the m4/3 systems or equivalent size systems from other manufacturers. Initially, I thought I had my mind made up that I was going to go with the Pani G3. I liked that it had an integrated EVF in addition to the articulated screen. It had a reasonable range of shutter speeds (particularly interested in long exposures), pretty good image quality up to moderate ISO and has a pretty impressive range of compatible m4/3 lumix lenses to pick from.

Lately though, I've been leaning towards the Sony NEX systems, particularly either the 5n (within my price range) or the 7 (more than I really want to spend). I like that the low light performance is generally very good and I'm happy to see a bulb setting is available. What I don't like is the lack of an integrated EVF on the 5n and the limited range, at the moment, of E mount lenses. I'm not really interested in collecting a bunch of different adaptors to support a bunch of different lenses.