Topic

A relatively new convert to UL’s take on “stagnation” and such

Forum Posting

A Membership is required to post in the forums. Login or become a member to post in the member forums!

Home Forums General Forums General Lightweight Backpacking Discussion A relatively new convert to UL’s take on “stagnation” and such

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 4 posts - 1 through 4 (of 4 total)
  • Author
    Cesar Valdez

@primezombie

Locale: Scandinavia

Over a year ago or so, I weighed my gear for the first time, made my first gear list, and posted it on here for feedback. I have to admit, my mind was blown. But I kept and open mind, tried some tips and advice, and was happy with the results. Problem was/is, I'm a humble grad student and father, and hence low on cash. This made me be very careful with buying gear, but I should add that I also happen to be naturally quite frugal and skeptical.

So at first, I just left more traditional gear at home. This included several of my prized bushcraft possessions like my awesome Fiskars axes. Then I repacked and scaled down. My FAK and hygiene kits got cut in half, and without any drawbacks either. Then finally when I got a small chunk of dough for myself, or for my birthday/x-mass, I replaced gear and got gear upgrades and alternatives. But before each and every purchase, I read lots of reviews, asked questions, read threads on these forums, etc.

Fast forward to the present. I just sent payment off for a custom Zpacks Zero, which is the finally piece of my gear library puzzle. This will be my 2 season SUL pack. I have everything I need for my 3 season UL needs, as well as my UL-LW winter needs.