Topic

Choosing my Philmont equipment, could use some advice

Forum Posting

A Membership is required to post in the forums. Login or become a member to post in the member forums!

Home Forums Scouting Philmont Choosing my Philmont equipment, could use some advice

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 19 posts - 1 through 19 (of 19 total)
  • Author
    Henry Shackleton

@asportking

Hello! This is my first (but definitely not my last) post here, and I'd like some suggestions on the gear I'll be bringing to Philmont this summer. While I've gone on dozens of backpacking trips, I'm far from an expert gear-wise. I usually just grabbed the first sleeping bag or flashlight that I came across without much consideration to how good it is, but I think I'd like to be more careful choosing my gear this time. Here's the list of what I've been suggested to bring and all the information I've gathered.

pack with padded hip belt
    capacity: external frame-4000 cu in +/-
    internal frame-4800 cu in +/-
    pack cover-waterproof nylon

I haven't really gotten to thinking about the pack yet; I think it would be better to get all the stuff that I'm putting in the pack first, then worry about the pack.

sleeping bag in stuff sack lined with plastic bag

I've got a Lafuma sleeping bag rated to 30 degrees, about 14.9" x 8.3", and 3 lbs 3 oz. However, I'm not sure how good this is compared to other sleeping bags.

sleep clothes-worn only in sleeping bag (T-shirt and gym shorts)

Meh.

*straps to hold sleeping bag on pack

Pretty self-explanatoroy

*foam sleeping pad (closed cell or Therma-Rest)

All I know about these are to not get the eggcrate kinds. Other than that, I don't know too much.

*hiking boots-well broken in

I already have a pair lying around, but I'm not sure if they're the right type for Philmont. Here's a link to them: http://www.zbsports.com/store/store_productdetaildesc.aspx?manufacturerid=32&productid=23678&categoryid=374

*lightweight sneakers or tennis shoes