Topic

My 2012 AT Thru Hike List

Forum Posting

A Membership is required to post in the forums. Login or become a member to post in the member forums!

Home Forums Gear Forums Gear Lists My 2012 AT Thru Hike List

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 24 posts - 1 through 24 (of 24 total)
  • Author
    Ryan Houser

@rjhouser

I'm leaving May 4th NOBO. Right now I'm at 11.56 lbs. It would be nice to get under 10. You can view my list here:

http://www.geargrams.com/list?id=5517

Looking for any type of advice or suggestions for cutting weight. My clothing worn has not been added yet but my clothing carried is, so the packed weight is accurate. I do already own all of this gear but I'm not necessarily set on it. Obviously as a college student I'm trying to find the intersection of low weight, durability / value, and price. I did buy most of my gear used. Thanks!

Ben C
    BPL Member

@alexdrewreed

Locale: Kentucky

Looks like a pretty good start on your list to me.

I would consider dropping the ground sheet and 2 dry bags.

That's a pretty heavy pack; you could lose a lot with a lighter pack. There are lots of options.

You could go a lot lighter on your shelter if you like a tarp.

Ron Bell / MLD
    BPL Member

@mountainlaureldesigns

Locale: USA

I think common thinner wall 1L soda bottles would save an about 1oz or so vz the gatorade bottles. If you can find the wide mouth thin wall 1L ( Aquafina) then those are pretty great if you do not need the ridges in the side for your set-up.

Maybe only an 8 oz AL fuel bottle? Perhaps the 16.9oz bottle is more than you need between resupplies – maybe not.

The GG PolyCro or MLD UL Ground Cloth would save 2-3 oz over the Tyvek.

Anyway- There's about 5oz saved for less than $15.

http://www.geargrams.com/list?id=5517
    BTW- Anyone plug in random end numbers to see other lists?

Buck Nelson
    BPL Member

@colter

Locale: Alaska