Topic

Shelter, Sleep System Advice

Forum Posting

A Membership is required to post in the forums. Login or become a member to post in the member forums!

Home Forums General Forums Winter Hiking Shelter, Sleep System Advice

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 8 posts - 1 through 8 (of 8 total)
  • Author
    Webster Jorgensen
    Spectator

@websterj

Locale: Kansas City

I'm new to winter backpacking, and am putting a kit together for this winter. I'd like to have something that is good down to 0* in the KS, NE and MO areas.

I already have a Shangri La 2.

I'm planning on purchasing:

– Hammock Gear 0* Top Quilt
    – Exped Downmat 7
    – Katabatic Bristlecone Bivy

I'm thinking of going with Hammock Gear because it seems like one of the less expensive winter quilts out there. The inclusion of the bivy is designed improve the efficiency of the quilt and also block drafts from underneath the shangri la 2. We don't always have snow on the ground in the winter in KS, NE, and MO to make it easy to block wind.

I plan on wearing my thermawrap pants and MB Alpine Light Down Jacket to bed if needed.

I want to make sure this is a good approach before I buy all this stuff. Thoughts?

Chad Miller

@chadnsc

Locale: Duluth, Minnesota

Seems like a good system to me. In fact I use a very similar system for winter backpacking in northern Minnesota / southern Canada.

One thing I've found that is important is the width of your sleeping pad. I find it nice to have a wider pad to keep parts of my bag and body out of contact with the cold ground. I myself use a Downmat 7 but in a 24" width due to my wide shoulders.

Also make sure you have a good balaclava / hat as you'll need it with your quilt.

Good luck and have fun!

Bryce
    BPL Member

@antigroundhogday

Locale: Stamford, CT