Topic

Seam Stick on Silnylon?

Forum Posting

A Membership is required to post in the forums. Login or become a member to post in the member forums!

Home Forums Gear Forums Make Your Own Gear Seam Stick on Silnylon?

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 5 posts - 1 through 5 (of 5 total)
  • Author
    ANTHONY FRANKLIN

@redwood82

Locale: Piedmont of the Carolinas

I know many are using this Seam Stick or the similar 3M seam tape to make Cuben tarps with no sewing. Would this work for Silnylon as well? Specifically for a seamed ridgeline?

I ordered a roll of this seam stick tape http://www.sailmakerssupply.com/tip2 and figured I would try it on some scraps to test the strength.

I would love to make a silnylon tarp with no sewing, or only minimal hand sewing since I have no sewing machine or experience with sewing machines.

David Goodyear
    BPL Member

@dmgoody

Locale: mid-west

I have tried this with silicone glue and It has worked for one-half season of backpacking. The only sewing was on the guy-out loops. I'll let you know how the tarp fairs under a snow load this winter.

link:

http://www.backpackinglight.com/cgi-bin/backpackinglight/forums/thread_display.html?forum_thread_id=51361&skip_to_post=436819#436819

Enjoy,

Dave

Jerry Adams
    BPL Member

@retiredjerry

Locale: Oregon and Washington

Now you're going to have to buy some Cuben fabric to go along with the seam stick (that is useless for silnylon)

ANTHONY FRANKLIN

@redwood82

Locale: Piedmont of the Carolinas

Awesome link / thread Dave, I didn't find it before where did a search. What brand of silicone glue did you buy if you can recall and where did you find it?

I suppose I will still find a use for the seam stick in other projects. I was under the impression it WOULD stick to silnylon.

David Goodyear
    BPL Member

@dmgoody

Locale: mid-west

Thanks Anthony,