Topic

Multi-Use Food: Manuka Honey?

Forum Posting

A Membership is required to post in the forums. Login or become a member to post in the member forums!

Home Forums General Forums Food, Hydration, and Nutrition Multi-Use Food: Manuka Honey?

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 13 posts - 1 through 13 (of 13 total)
  • Author
    Clint Hewitt

@walksoftly33

Locale: New England

I was pondering if carrying Manuka Honey while hiking would be worthwhile. I have no experience with it first hand. Would it be worth carrying on longer hikes?

Background: It purports to have anti-bacterial and anti-microbial properties.

Multi Use:
    1. Human Consumption
    2. Better Oral Health
    3. Prevent infections/Promote healing on cuts
    4. Chapped Lips
    5. Burns
    6. Purported Safe
    7. Acne help
    8. Sore Throat

1. Human Consumption.
    Pros
    – Honey is tasty and delicious and can provide a great boost
    – Different taste of sugar then standard simple carb trail consumption
    – useable on many things: Oatmeal, granola bars, fruit, breads
    – rarely need it for medicinal use, eating the majority of your stock would not be to big a risk.
    – But you will most likely not eat all of it, always some stuck to the sides for those times that you do need a medicinal ointment.

Questions:
    * Since it has antimicrobial properties, does consumption produces it the long term, balance or imbalance in the Gut floral of the digestion system?
    * Does consuming this keep you any healthier during a thru, when you are demanding alot of you body and nutrition is not optimal? (i.e. fresh fruit and veggies can only be had in town or just out)

2. Oral Health:
    http://www.livestrong.com/article/424034-is-manuka-honey-safe/

3. Cuts:
    *Would the application be to messy?

4. Lip Balm:
    * Would this work? maybe

5. Burns:
    – Minor fire burns
    * Sunburns?

6. Safe:
    – Supposedly this stuff has bean used effectively and safely

7. Acne