Topic

‘Lifelist’ hikes in the NW

Forum Posting

A Membership is required to post in the forums. Login or become a member to post in the member forums!

Home Forums Campfire Trip Planning ‘Lifelist’ hikes in the NW

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 11 posts - 1 through 11 (of 11 total)
  • Author
    Cullen Steele
    BPL Member

@csteele

Locale: Northwest

I am relatively new to Seattle and am trying to compile an aspirational list of hikes, along with the seasons in which to hike them. All of the guidebooks I have bought reference a June-Oct hiking season, but I figure that the lower elevation routes should be accessible earlier/later in the year. Here is what I have so far:

Crater lake
    Northern loop – Mt Rainier
    Blue lake loop
    Hoh river
    Wonderland trail
    Copper ridge trail
    Enchantment Lakes

I know that there are a lot of NW BPLrs and I am hoping to learn from your experience. Thanks for your input!

Steve Robinson
    BPL Member

@jeannie-2

I can't get enough of Hoh River to Shi Shi Beach on the coast.

Mary D
    BPL Member

@hikinggranny

Locale: Gateway to Columbia River Gorge

The Spider Meadow/Lyman Lakes/Image Lake/Buck Creek Pass loop.

Entiat River/Larch Lakes/Cow Creek Meadows loop in early October, for the golden Alpine larch.

Dirk Rabdau

@dirk9827

Locale: Pacific Northwest

Welcome to the Northwest, I hope you find it to your liking.
    I believe June – October is fair estimation of traditional hiking season in western Washington, although this year July was pretty snowed in after a wet and cold spring. June at elevation is usually pushing it early in the month on the west side of the Cascades, at least in the Central Cascades north.
    Off the top of my head, others I would add to your list (and by no means are my suggestions definitive. My experience in mostly in Washington. Others here will comment on the wonders of Oregon . )
    So, in no particular order I give you a list: