Topic

Questions regarding all layers of clothing for the AT in may/June

Forum Posting

A Membership is required to post in the forums. Login or become a member to post in the member forums!

Home Forums Gear Forums Gear (General) Questions regarding all layers of clothing for the AT in may/June

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 25 posts - 1 through 25 (of 25 total)
  • Author
    Stephen Nelson

@stephenn6289

Locale: Sunshine State

I was reading the earlier post by Derek H and the wonderful responses that he has received and I began to wonder what clothing choices would be good for the Appalachian Trail (from Springer through Great Smoky Mountains National Park) in late May and early June. I am very new to backpacking and am unsure of what the best choices are. I understand that different people have different preferances, but any general guidance would be very much appreciated. Thank you

-Stephen

Pamela Wyant

@riverrunner

As you say, different people will have different preferences, but here's what I took last spring for a mid-April section hike from Springer to Unicoi Gap. It turned out to be unseasonably warm, so I didn't use the jacket much, but I was comfortable even in the warmer weather.
    Wearing: REI Sahara convertible pants, Patagonia Tee, Wigwam ingenious socks, undies, and sport bra (don't think you'll need that one based on your name!)
    In pack: Big Sky Products Epic jacket & pants (raingear and the pants doubled as 'town' pants while doing laundry), nylon shorts & Ex-officio tank (sleeping and lounging at the hostel), mid-weight Patagonia base layer pants & zip-T (sent back from Woody Gap since it was unseasonably warm), UnderArmor cool gear shirt (sleeping/lounging), Big Sky Products convertible sweater, Wigwam Hiker socks, extra pair of undies, fleece hat, Isotoner gloves (weird for hiking I know, but they work for me), light fleece gloves (the 2 different sets can layer together).