Topic

Cooking whole grain stuff in a freezer bag

Forum Posting

A Membership is required to post in the forums. Login or become a member to post in the member forums!

Home Forums General Forums Food, Hydration, and Nutrition Cooking whole grain stuff in a freezer bag

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 11 posts - 1 through 11 (of 11 total)
  • Author
    Ike Jutkowitz
    BPL Member

@ike

Locale: Central Michigan

I like backpacking foods well enough, but don't love the effects they have on my GI tract over time (too much information, I know). Consequently, I've committed to introducing more real foods into my backpacking diet, and eating more like how I eat at home. (I'm an avid cook). I'd like to do so without augmenting my backpacking kitchen (a 550 ml pot)if possible. Couple of questions. Can I "cook" whole grain angel hair pasta in a freezer bag and cozy by pouring in boiling water and letting it sit?

What other whole grains have people found that lend themselves to FBC style cooking?

I have just ordered a cheapo nesco dehydrator (cheaper than a week's worth of backpacking food)so I can precook the grain products if needed, but would also like some suggestions for things that don't require this extra manipulation.

Ike

Dave Marcus
    BPL Member

@djrez4

Locale: Rocky Mountains

I tried to cook some Tinkyada rice pasta in a bag. On the bag, there is an alternative "low-energy" cooking method suggested: boil in the pot for 1-2 minutes and then turn off the heat and let the pasta sit in the hot water for about 20 minutes. With that alternative available, I figured freezer bag cooking would work as well.

Thank goodness I tried it in my kitchen before taking it into the backcountry. I tried three times, lengthening the hot water soak each time, but could not get the pasta to cook all the way through. It also produced a very uneven cook, despite my mixing everything around thoroughly in the bag.