Topic

Hammock and a GoLite Poncho/Tarp

Forum Posting

A Membership is required to post in the forums. Login or become a member to post in the member forums!

Home Forums Gear Forums Gear (General) Hammock and a GoLite Poncho/Tarp

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 7 posts - 1 through 7 (of 7 total)
  • Author
    Scott Robertson

@srphotographic

Alright, allow me to introduce myself! My name is Scott and I am an 18-year-old student living in Gainesville, FL. I have done a lot of camping before but have never truly gone backpacking.
    I have decided to start out backpacking ultralight instead of waiting to convert later. I suppose I am in the new generation of backpackers and should adopt the best methods now so I can improve on them later without needing to catch up. I am already a cyclist so I understand the idea of getting your gear as light as possible. I also like the philosophy of UL backpacking. It strips one of his comforts and is a test of character. How much can I go without so as to stay safe but still enjoy the beauty of nature?
    I took advantage of the holiday sales on campmor.com and rei.com to buy an internal frame pack (Jansport Helios 2900cc), a sleeping pad (ThermoRest Z-Lite), and some wool socks.
    I have ordered an ultralite (10oz.) "the travel hammock" because I have decided to to hammock my trips to save weight and money. I realize that Florida State Parks do not allow hammocks to be tied to trees, but I have seen enough of the Florida countryside in my 18 years that it won't be a problem.
    My next purchase towards my base is a tarp to cover the hammock. Trying to save weight and money, I am seriously considering the GoLite Poncho/Tarp. Yes, it is a full 3oz. heavier than the same size Siltarp, but it is dual-purpose and therefore surpasses the siltarp.