Topic

Advanced Ranger shakedown

Forum Posting

A Membership is required to post in the forums. Login or become a member to post in the member forums!

Home Forums Scouting Philmont Advanced Ranger shakedown

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 5 posts - 1 through 5 (of 5 total)
  • Author
    Doug Parker

@buffaloskipper

Locale: Gulf Coast

The daugher of one of my closest scouting friends has served on Philmont staff the past 3 years, in many different capacities, including Ranger. She has agreed to meet with our 3 contingent crews in January and acting "in character" do an advanced shake down of the crews.

Seems to me that this would be a great tool 6 months before arriving at Philmont. The contingents would have had several meetings, a session or two of "Backpacking Light," and at least 2 weekend backpacks before meeting the Ranger. I have never been to Philmont, so I have no practical experience from which to form an opinion. Is this a good idea? Will it be a good benefit to the crews? What should I be aware of before hand?

Any advice on making the most of this opportunity is very welcome.

George Geist
    BPL Member

@geist

Locale: Smoky Mountains

> Any advice on making the most of this opportunity is very welcome.

Hi Doug,

Here is something I found even more valuable than a ranger shakedown.
    There is a little book you can order from Amazon.com called
    "A backpackers guide to Philmont" by Bill Sassani.
    Bill worked for 10 years at Philmont as a Ranger, Ranger trainer,
    and many other roles.

This little book takes you through the basic ranger shakedown,
    but also gives valuable descriptions of the Crew jobs, and
    the common group dynamics that happen during the 2weeks at
    Philmont. The back of the book says it is "a resource meant
    to help participants, particularly adult advisers, train
    and prepare for a Philmont trek." I found it very helpful
    as adult adviser to our 2009 crew.

Manfred
    BPL Member

@orienteering

Doug,