Topic

Backpacking in Eastern MO

Forum Posting

A Membership is required to post in the forums. Login or become a member to post in the member forums!

Home Forums Campfire Trip Planning Backpacking in Eastern MO

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 13 posts - 1 through 13 (of 13 total)
  • Author
    Chris Crowley
    Spectator

@8crow

Locale: Eastern Missouri

Hello all. Wondering if anyone has suggestions for a place to backpack and camp within an hour or two of St. Louis? Doesn't need to be anything too serious, I'm just trying to introduce my wife to backpacking and to her new hammock, which should be arriving any day. I'd appreciate any feedback.

Ken K

@thefatboy

Locale: St. Louis

I've had a lot of good experiences in MO State Parks. For a one-night first trip, I'd suggest Hawn State Park. Cuivre River and Washington State Parks are also nice, but Hawn is prettier and has year-round water along much of the parts of the Whispering Pines trail. Also, with the trails set up as "stacked loops" and having connectors, you can tune your trip to whatever length you want… 2-mile out-and-back, 6-mile nothern loop, 10-mile figure-eight, etc.

There is an activity finder on http://www.mostateparks.com/. You can see all the parks in teh region that have backpacking trails in the region (http://mostateparks.com/activity/backpacking).

Happy to answer any questions you might have on these parks.

Bob Gross
    BPL Member

@b-g-2-2

Locale: Silicon Valley

There is always the KATY Trail. It runs parallel of the Missouri River, and just north of it. It's not exactly miles and miles of wilderness. There are little towns along the way.

–B.G.–

Ken K

@thefatboy

Locale: St. Louis

I'd avoid the Katy Trail as it is known for being very high-traffic with lots of bicyclists. Personally, I don't think it's well suited for a first backpacking trip.

Bob Gross
    BPL Member

@b-g-2-2

Locale: Silicon Valley

What? The KATY Trail has changed in the last 35 years? I'm shocked!