Topic

Tarp Recommendations

Forum Posting

A Membership is required to post in the forums. Login or become a member to post in the member forums!

Home Forums Gear Forums Gear (General) Tarp Recommendations

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 10 posts - 1 through 10 (of 10 total)
  • Author
    Ernie Elkins

@earthdweller

Locale: North Carolina

I'm shopping for a tarp to combine with my new Vapr bivy, and I'm curious to see what others are using or would recommend.

I'll use the combo for solo trips in the NC/VA mountains in relatively mild, 3-season conditions. My trips tend to be short (2-3 days), and I can usually reschedule if the weather forecast looks unpleasant (lots of rain, etc.).

Since the bivy provides good protection from spray and bugs, I'm leaning toward something small (5×8?), simple (no beaks, etc.), and inexpensive (under $100). Nonetheless, since I'm somewhat new to tarp camping, I'd appreciate some suggestions from those of you with more experience.

D G
    Spectator

@dang

Locale: Pacific Northwet

Hard to beat the Golite poncho tarp. Its only about $45. Durable material and of course it doubles as a poncho.

Mike Maurer

@maurer

Locale: Oregon

You might want to start here – – http://www.backpackinglight.com/cgi-bin/backpackinglight/00174.html
    Then add in your own thoughts on the tarps on this site, Gossamers' site and Mountain Laurel Designs' site.

Mike Maurer

Adam Rothermich
    BPL Member

@aroth87

Locale: Missouri Ozarks

I have 2 MLD tarps and love them. Previously, Ron had 5×9 flat tarps (no catenary ridge) in silnylon ($55, 8 oz) and spinnaker ($90, 5.5 oz). He has closed down the site until January to hire some more workers and revise his product line. I would guess he will be offering similar products. The tarps I have are very well made and I love them. Ron seems like a nice guy and he is willing to modify gear he has on his site as well as make custom products.