Topic

White Mountain Presidential Traverse

Forum Posting

A Membership is required to post in the forums. Login or become a member to post in the member forums!

Home Forums Off Piste Mountaineering & Alpinism White Mountain Presidential Traverse

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 25 posts - 1 through 25 (of 25 total)
  • Author
    Jonathan Ryan
    BPL Member

@jkrew81

Locale: White Mtns

In a month I have planned to do a White Mountain Presidential Traverse for the first time. While I have several years of experience winter climbing in the Presidentials in the winter, this is a beast of a different nature. I plan on completing the trip (18 miles) in 2 days. Conditions this time of year are generally hovering above or below freezing with high winds up to and over 100 MPH, sleet, snow and freezing fog. Camping will be at sheltered area above treeline. I have my gear listing posted below, but I am looking to see what other people would carry for a trip like this? Preferably people who have completed or attempted this route. My setup is similar to the one Ryan posted, but with several mountaineering specific options (boots, axe ect…)

Graham Williams

@crackers

My comments below are solely comments and are in no way ,shape, or form a substitute for experience, training and ability.

Why two days? The prezies traverse is a fairly easy day hike if you and the range are both in condition. I've done it in the winter, and probably will again this winter, and I find it's significantly more comfortable and more enjoyable as a fast and light expedition rather than a long slog.

Do you plan to camp or stay in a hut? Are you after a winter hiking experience or a winter mountaineering experience? I'm not sure how you're going to find a very sheltered area above tree line. The entire ridgeline is a blast line for wind and weather.