Topic

How come I see water disinfectant but not filtration in gear lists?

Forum Posting

A Membership is required to post in the forums. Login or become a member to post in the member forums!

Home Forums General Forums Food, Hydration, and Nutrition How come I see water disinfectant but not filtration in gear lists?

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 19 posts - 1 through 19 (of 19 total)
  • Author
    David Vo

@sygyzy

Hi,

Preface: I am new to backpacking so excuse the naive question.

I have been looking at gear lists from the members here and for water treatment I usually see pills or some form of UV light. I have an Steripen Adventurer Opti. What I don't understand is how come I don't see any sort of filtration system.

I am going on a hike where I know there are many water crossings and some sort of waterfall/pool. I am not sure how active they are now that it's summer or how clean the water is. Either way, for safety and flavor reasons, wouldn't you want to pre-treat your water with a filter to get it clear, then treat it will pills or the UV light?

Is everyone just hiking in areas with pristine freshwater rivers?

Robert Cowman
    BPL Member

@rcowman

Locale: Canadian Rockies

its just a bit of grit that never hurt anyone. water tastes the same with or without grit. I usually don't even treat my water.

Filters are heavy, prone to clogs, and slow.

David Vo

@sygyzy

How much water do you carry in versus how much do you harvest on a typical hike? Can you give me an example? I would prefer to save my pack load but on the other hand, I'll carry all the extra weight needed to have lifesaving water.

Bob Gross
    BPL Member

@b-g-2-2

Locale: Silicon Valley

Everybody has a slightly different approach to water treatment.

In some areas, people don't treat the water at all, and they will just take their chances. If it is directly from a snow field or glacier, this works pretty good.