Topic

Variable insulation/ wpb quilt?

Forum Posting

A Membership is required to post in the forums. Login or become a member to post in the member forums!

Home Forums Gear Forums Make Your Own Gear Variable insulation/ wpb quilt?

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 3 posts - 1 through 3 (of 3 total)
  • Author
    William Zila
    BPL Member

@ultralightwillinn-m

Locale: Albuquerque

I'm sure this concept has come up but I couldn't find anything on it so here goes. I was laying in bed when the thought suddenly hit me heat rises correct so why don't I build a quilt with a thicker insulation on the top and sides going down to the pad. But for what gets stuffed under or almost under me most of the night why don't I use a thinner insulation? Then I took it another step even when sleeping In a down sweater up top, and just thrermals for my legs my upper body feels cold much before my lower. So from say knee leval down I could use a lighter insulation as well. I'm not a expert so would this work as well as I think it will? I guess it's kind of the same concept as wearing a vest not a jacket since your core needs more warmth. This quilt will be used for a xul/sul so I was going to make it with a closable head slit to be worn as a shawl.Second matter of thought was I still have the idea of usig tyvec 1443 as the outter shell since it's a great barrier at passing moisture and resisting water then I was going to use a 4.5mm silk as the inner. The insulation would be a combo of climashield apex 2.5 and 5 or maybe 2.5 and down hmmm. That would mean only about half the baffling for down and i could use 1443 for the footbox where the climashield is and 7d for where the down is?Last question is I have heard you lose some warmth going from something like m90 as a liner to silk is this true ? If so how much? So if you could answer the poll of questions to help me decide how to build this thing I would appreciate it especially input from Tim marshal te-wa javen and all you top notch