Topic

Advice for a novice in snow?

Forum Posting

A Membership is required to post in the forums. Login or become a member to post in the member forums!

Home Forums Off Piste Mountaineering & Alpinism Advice for a novice in snow?

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 9 posts - 1 through 9 (of 9 total)
  • Author
    b d

@bdavis

Locale: Mt. Lassen - Shasta, N. Cal.

I am a novice at snow trekking, tents, sleeping in it, etc.?

I have a lot of questions and would like advice on how best to approach it.

First step for myself and my partner is sleeping in a tent, tarp, or shelter comfortably in 0 F to 32 F nights.

Second is taking the tent, tarp or whatever works on a short Xcountry ski, mukluk, or snow shoe trek and then succesfully setting up a camp, cooking, staying dry and warm, and returning. We live in an environment where we can leave our house and camp within a 1/2 mile or so in Forest Service lands on Hat Creek in N. California.

Next step is going on the National Forest lands at Lassen on fairly establish snow shoe trails … I want to do it in mukluks because I am new to them and they are wonderful, warm. Just great things to use.

So if anyone wants to take a novice under their wing I am ready to listen and do.

Douglas Frick
    BPL Member

@otter

Locale: Wyoming

It looks like you've got the process nailed–step by step. I tested various configurations of lightweight clothing and sleeping gear in the back yard in various conditions to well below 0F before I would trust switching from heavy to light in the backcountry. (Good thing I did because I ran into a blizzard. Comfortably :) I now prefer a hammock in winter because it makes setting up camp quick and easy, but then I usually go solo. YMMV.