Topic

Help me Reach under 1.5 lb PPPPD at around 3000 cal.

Forum Posting

A Membership is required to post in the forums. Login or become a member to post in the member forums!

Home Forums General Forums Food, Hydration, and Nutrition Help me Reach under 1.5 lb PPPPD at around 3000 cal.

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 25 posts - 1 through 25 (of 38 total)
  • Author
    Alex Blondeau

@alex_blondeau

I'm new to the light weight meal planning philosophy… but I want IN! I've been living in the summer sausage, cheese and crackers world for the past 15 years. I know that there is a full article written on this topic by Mike C (which I will be checking out shortly) but I thought I'd put up my progress and see what kind of concrete feedback any might have.

I'm taking a crack at planning meals for 4 guys for our upcoming trip to Glacier National Park, and I have to say, I'm struggling.

I'm shooting for a target of 1.5lbs PPPPD at around 3000 cal.

Here's the spreadsheet of my first meal attempt: http://draggerseats.com/random_images/1 Day Menu.xls

As you can see I had to add a 2 oz shot of olive oil just to reach 2844 cal. Can any of those of you who are experienced at this give me some idea of where I'm going wrong?

Thanks in advance!
    [runs off to buy Mike's article]

Mike Clelland

@mikeclelland

Locale: The Tetons (via Idaho)

That article was used as the foundation in my new book!

LINK:
    http://ultralightbackpackintips.blogspot.com/

There is a lot of info in the book, I'm really proud of the food planning chapter.

I would focus on snacks and less on meals. If you can shave an ounce off a meal and add it to the snack column, do it!

Mike C!

Kevin @ Seek Outside
    BPL Member

@ktimm

Locale: Colorado (SeekOutside)

They provide almost 3200 calories per pound, mix in some Jerky and dried blue berries, perhaps get carbs from a mix in with your drink (powdered gatorade). I use walnuts and jerky as a staple of any short trip.

Mary D
    BPL Member