Topic

Trekking pole antishock

Forum Posting

A Membership is required to post in the forums. Login or become a member to post in the member forums!

Home Forums Gear Forums Make Your Own Gear Trekking pole antishock

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 19 posts - 1 through 19 (of 19 total)
  • Author
    Andrew Bishop
    BPL Member

@copperhead

Locale: Down Under

I love my bamboo staff. It's light and strong. I have added a wrist strap and a camera mount.

A missing feature I would like is an antishock system, as I find I get sore wrists towards the end of a day's walking.

Any engineering types out there with thoughts on how I could add antishock to my bamboo pole?

Pilate de Guerre

@deguerre

Locale: SE, USA

I'm no engineer, but maybe adding some foam to wherever your grip the bamboo would help? Also, maybe some grippy rubber to the bottom?

Greg Mihalik
    Spectator

@greg23

Locale: Colorado

Connect your wrist strap to the staff via a loop of shock cord.

Jeffs Eleven
    BPL Member

@woodenwizard

Locale: NePo

Both of these ideas seem like champs to me. I was thinking put grips on em, and Gregs idea seems very elegant, also.

Personally I don't like antishock (as a mechanism) it feels like you're sticking your poles in mud.

I'd be willing to bet that with grips, shock cord strap, and the natural flex, they would be comfy.

Dale Wambaugh
    BPL Member

@dwambaugh

Locale: Pacific Northwest

Show us a photo of how you are using the wrist strap. Are you really slamming the pole into the ground? I swing it with a flick of my wrist and land fairly soft on it. Never had a problem.

Slip on bicycle foam grips would be interesting. Anti-shock sucks, IMHO. Most antishock mechanisms are some sort of spring loaded plunger, so you need an independent column somewhere in the line.