Topic

Bear canister on SHR – two questions

Forum Posting

A Membership is required to post in the forums. Login or become a member to post in the member forums!

Home Forums Gear Forums Gear (General) Bear canister on SHR – two questions

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 21 posts - 1 through 21 (of 21 total)
  • Author
    Hannes Horst

@hochtourist

Hi Folks,

In August, I plan to make an attempt at through-hiking the Sierra High Route. For this trip, I will have to carry a bear canister. As I am from Germany where we killed off the last bear 200 years ago, I have zero experience with these things. Therefore, my first question is, which model can you recommend? In some older threads I found recommendations for the bearikade. Is that still up to date? If yes, is there a good but less expensive alternative?

My second questions is more about tactics. As I plan 10 to 12 days to get from King's Canyon to Red's Meadow, one canister might actually not be sufficient. On the other hand, at the time I reach Yosemite, where the canister is mandatory, there will only be food left for another week which should easily fit inside.
    Now I was wondering, if things like unopened bags of pasta or vacuum-packed food are actually smell proof and, thus, could be stored directly in the pack instead of inside the container.
    What is your experience regarding this issue?

Thanks in advance and regards from Germany
    Hannes

Bob Gross
    BPL Member

@b-g-2-2

Locale: Silicon Valley

There are several competing products in the realm of bear canisters. Some of the national parks actually list the approved models on their web sites.

You can go for minimum weight, maximum volume, and maximum price. I think the Bearikade meets this.

You can go for moderate weight, maximum volume, and moderate price. I think the BearVault 500 meets this.