Topic

Water on Art Loeb in Shining Rock Wilderness

Forum Posting

A Membership is required to post in the forums. Login or become a member to post in the member forums!

Home Forums Campfire Hiking Partners / Group Trips Water on Art Loeb in Shining Rock Wilderness

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 8 posts - 1 through 8 (of 8 total)
  • Author
    Nate Powell

@powell1nj

Locale: North Carolina

Howdy Folks,

I'm heading out to the Shining Rock Wilderness this weekend. It's my first time out there and I was wondering if anyone had been out there recently and if they could comment on water availability. Specifically I'm wondering about the stretch of the Art Loeb Trail between Ivestor Gap and Cold Mountain. Any place to get water on that stretch? Any info. would be much appreciated. Thanks!

Brad Rogers
    BPL Member

@mocs123

Locale: Southeast Tennessee

There is a spring right off the trail near Shining Rock Gap. I don't know 100% that it is flowing but it has always been flowing when I have been up there.

Jamie Shortt
    BPL Member

@jshortt

Nate, I just did that section of the Art Loeb last week and did not find water until near the top of cold mountain. I wasn't looking for Brad's source so I missed it. The cold mountain source is small but free flowing.

Jamie

Nate Powell

@powell1nj

Thanks fellas. Jamie – is the water source near the top of cold mountain easy to locate? Any hints on finding either of those sources would certainly be welcome. I appreciate the info.

CW
    BPL Member

@simplespirit

Locale: .

I never have trouble finding water in the Wilderness area, as long as you aren't in any hurry. I've had to be creative to capture it before and have had to walk a mile from camp, but you can find it. I'm in Asheville, so not far from the area, and we've gotten rain daily for the past several days so I would expect any sources to be flowing pretty well.

Brad Fisher
    Spectator

@wufpackfn

Locale: NC/TN/VA Mountains