Topic

Few starter questions from a newbie…..

Forum Posting

A Membership is required to post in the forums. Login or become a member to post in the member forums!

Home Forums Gear Forums Make Your Own Gear Few starter questions from a newbie…..

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 7 posts - 1 through 7 (of 7 total)
  • Author
    Brad Eaton

@flyguyphoto

Hi my name is Brad, and I'm a MYOG'aholic. I'm here as a total newbie, but I think I might have read most all the posts on this forum. You're a very inspiring bunch, and such an open group. I am almost finished with my second pack, but both are very good examples of the room I have for improvement. They're not bad, but leave plenty to improve upon.

One of the bags I've been trying to build is a camera bag. I don't want a big camera bag, I want something that will be fit snug to the camera, and only hold a DSLR body and lense. I want to use it to put in other bags, and eventually build a few bags and incorporate it in to my designs. What I'm trying to do though, is created a rigid body so when I take the camera out of the bag, it won't lose it's shape. I tried batting in my first attempt, and it worked out ok, but it still collapses too easily. Any thoughts?

My second question comes down to tools. Can I ask how everyone is cutting their material? The girlfriend doesn't like the fact that I've taken over the kitchen table and is worried I might mess up the table. So she recommended I look in to a large cutting board, and cutting wheel. Anyone using this type of set up? I'm just using scissors now.

Thanks for all the motivation guys, the packs on here are incredible. I'm a big fly fisherman and photographer, so I'll hopefully be making a few sport specific bags in the near future with pics to show. It really is addicting.

Jerry Adams
    BPL Member

@retiredjerry

Locale: Oregon and Washington

1/8 inch close cell foam?

They have stiff plastic cutting boards that you can put on top of the table to protect the table