Topic

Planning a warm weather Quilt

Forum Posting

A Membership is required to post in the forums. Login or become a member to post in the member forums!

Home Forums Gear Forums Make Your Own Gear Planning a warm weather Quilt

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 12 posts - 1 through 12 (of 12 total)
  • Author
    Joey Dawson

@inabag

Locale: Northern VA

This is my first attempt at something like this, as well as sewing. Should be fun :)

I am going to make something fairly similar to:
    http://www.lytw8.com/uploads/LytW8_Summer_Quilt_Instructions.pdf

I have some questions before I start gathering the materials.

1) I want to use Climasheild 2.5 instead of down. Should I just lay that inbetween the layers and sew the baffles just like the down version, or do I need to do this differently?

2) Shock cord / cord locks. Can I use the 1/16th shock cord and mini cord locks from zpacks? Will this be strong enough?

3) Thinking about adding some sort of sleeve at the bottom for my pad, to ensure it stays snug to the pad at the bottom. Ideas?

4) I am only 5'6", 150lbs. I am a side to side sleeper. Can I knock off a few inches on the length of the lytw8 quilt and be safe?

5) I have not found much information on what type of needle I need in the sewing machine. Any good sites to show a newb how to use a sewing machine for this type of project specifically?

6) Can anyone shed light on the difference between these fabrics below? Are the ones I can get local (Joann, Hancock) heavier? Maybe 1.7 or 1.9? I can get these for a steal with 40% off coupons – so just wondering what my options are.

http://www.hancockfabrics.com/viewproduct.htm?productId=48182826
    http://www.joann.com/joann/catalog/productdetail.jsp?CATID=cat3071&PRODID=xprd560961
    http://thru-hiker.com/materials/breathable.php

Thanks!

todd
    BPL Member

@funnymo

Locale: SE USA