Topic

Cost per oz of weight saved

Forum Posting

A Membership is required to post in the forums. Login or become a member to post in the member forums!

Home Forums General Forums General Lightweight Backpacking Discussion Cost per oz of weight saved

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 9 posts - 1 through 9 (of 9 total)
  • Author
    Robert Mak

@blmac

cost weight analysis

I tried a value analysis in saving weight. This probably has been done before but I haven't seen it posted. I'm not an expert at doing this, so I'm sure someone could suggest improvements to the methodology.

Categories were devised for materials to be analyzed (titanium, cuben, etc.). To make a comparison, I took the weight and cost of an item in that category then found a comparable item made in a different material (one "level" down), from the same manufacturer when possible. e.g. compare an aluminum and a titanium cookset or a down vs synth bag.

I collected comparisons for the different groups. Next I calculated the difference in weight and cost for all comparisons, then summed them within their respective categories. Finally, I divided the 2 sums to get the average $cost per oz. saved.

Charles Henry

@chuckie_cheese

Locale: Arizona and British Columbia

Your saying that higher FP has more bang for buck, ie, cheaper and better to buy 850FP down than 750FP down?

Tim Zen
    Spectator

@asdzxc57

Locale: MI

Thanks for posting another way to slice the weight saving data.

Were the down numbers for bags or jackets? If it was on bags, then were the bags rated the same temperature and had the same dimensions?

What products were used when comparing silicon nylon to cuben fiber? Was it all tarps?

Dale Wambaugh
    BPL Member

@dwambaugh

Locale: Pacific Northwest