Topic

Will my sleep system do the trick?

Forum Posting

A Membership is required to post in the forums. Login or become a member to post in the member forums!

Home Forums Gear Forums Gear (General) Will my sleep system do the trick?

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 5 posts - 1 through 5 (of 5 total)
  • Author
    RVP
    BPL Member

@tunaboy999-2

Locale: Mid Atlantic

I'm new to light backpacking and am just putting together my big 3. I’m going to use this setup for summer trips to the Colorado Rockies or Wind River Range in Wyoming, as well as camping in the Northeast April-October. The following items are in the mail:

Tent: Tarptent Double Rainbow
    Pack: Six Moon Designs Traveler Pack with Gossamer Sit Pad
    Sleep system: Marmot Helium to be used with existing ¾ Thermarest Explorer (22 oz!)

At 3.4 pounds, I’m not sure I’m happy with the sleep system I have put together. I ordered the Marmot Helium, but wonder if I would be better served by a 30 degree bag instead (Hydrogen?). On the other hand, the 15 degree bag could come in handy especially at high altitude in the Rockies. I just can’t decide if the weight penalty of the 15 degree bag is worth it. The sleep pad is another problem — alternatives to the heavy ¾ Thermarest just don’t seem very appealing (thinner & less comfortable or expensive and frail).

Suggestions are welcome!
    -RVP

Randy Martin
    BPL Member

@randalmartin

Locale: Colorado

In my opinion a 15 degree is way too warm for Summer even in Colorado and the Wind River range. I have a Marmot Atom 40 degree bag. It's all I use between June and September in the high country. I always like the versatility of being able to layer a down sweater and balaclava if I really need to extend the warmth of my bag. Much more flexible since I can use the down sweater and balaclava during the day on my hike if conditions warrant.