Topic

15 degree bag for 3-three season in the PNW?

Forum Posting

A Membership is required to post in the forums. Login or become a member to post in the member forums!

Home Forums Gear Forums Gear (General) 15 degree bag for 3-three season in the PNW?

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 25 posts - 1 through 25 (of 30 total)
  • Author
    Mike Henry

@mikehenry

Locale: Pacific Northwest

Hey so i am new to ultralight backpacking, and backpacking in general. I have been a few times and have decided that i wish to make it a large part of my summer from here on out. I have been lurking for the last month reading all of the great information that is abundant on these forums.

So anyways, i am looking for a good three season sleeping bag for the pacific northwest. I am based out of Portland, and would likely beng doing most of my backpacking in the Oregon/Washington cascades. I have decided to go with a down bag due to the packability and the hope that it will last many years, despite my empty college pockets. I plan on doing most of my backpacking between may and september, so i figure that a bag in the 15-20 F range would be sufficient becuase i believe i am a cold sleepier (i usually sleep with a blanket and down comforter for probably ~9-10 months out of the year). This has led me to look at thew WM ultralite, Marmot Helium and Montbell UL Super Spiral Down Hugger #1, with the down hugger being the front runner in my mind. I usually sleep on my stomach in a double "4" position (left leg agianst right in a 4 shape, along with an arm under my head), which has led me to look at the montbell due to its stretchability. I also am looking at long versions of bags, because i am 6'1"-6'2" and weigh 180-190.

So my question to you guys is this: am i looking at the right bags for the temperatures i will be experiencing, or am i completely looking the wrong direction? Please give me any advice or constructive critism, as i am new to this and would take it to heart.