Topic

Bear bag system for Oregon/SW Washington areas

Forum Posting

A Membership is required to post in the forums. Login or become a member to post in the member forums!

Home Forums Gear Forums Gear (General) Bear bag system for Oregon/SW Washington areas

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 24 posts - 1 through 24 (of 24 total)
  • Author
    Andrew Applegate

@andrewpdx

I'm in the market for a bear bagging system and am looking for recommendations.

Most of my time is spent in the PNW (not bear country like Rainier or the Olympic penninsula – for those spots, I'll just rent a canister).

I'm having a tough time deciding between the Ursack, Ursack Minor, and a cuben bear bag set-up. I like the Ursack minor option the best (lightweight, no throwing involved), but I'm wondering if this is sufficient for the PNW?

I'm kind of new to this and I'm not sure if I'm being overly or underly paranoid about bears. Anyone spend a fair amount of time in Oregon/SW Washington and have any advice on keeping my food out of the hands of bears and other critters?

Thanks.

Kyle Meyer
    BPL Member

@kylemeyer

Locale: Portland, OR

Don't buy a system. Use an existing stuff/dry sack from your sleeping bag or tent/tarp, buy some spectra cord and a tiny, non-load-bearing carabiner and watch a video on the PCT method.

Mary R
    BPL Member

@pietimer

I'm with Kyle on this. I don't have any experience backpacking in the NW, but I've done lots of backpacking in bear areas. I don't use one of my sleeping bag or tent stuff sacks though. I bring a dedicated food bag (which is just a dry bag) and some nylon rope.

I never liked the idea of my food and my sleeping bag sharing containers. Maybe I'm just too paranoid though.

Todd T
    BPL Member

@texasbb

Locale: Pacific Northwest