Topic

HMS (munter hitch, belay) carabiners

Forum Posting

A Membership is required to post in the forums. Login or become a member to post in the member forums!

Home Forums Off Piste Mountaineering & Alpinism HMS (munter hitch, belay) carabiners

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 9 posts - 1 through 9 (of 9 total)
  • Author
    Ross P Hemphill

@rbimli

Locale: PNW

Howdy,

I'm looking for feedback on symmetrical, pear-shaped biners. I'll be using these with a fairly light rope, probably no thicker than the Beal Joker at 9.1mm. The main use I currently forsee is glacier crossing and non-so-technical mountaineering, although there's a good chance I'll end up using them for other assorted, probably not-so-technical stuff. (I expect a high ratio of carrying to actively using.) I'll probably try to use a (double?) munter as much as I can "reasonably" get away with. I imagine I'd use a belay/rappel device (Piu 2, Verso?) a fair amount of the time. Yes, I'm pretty new to climbing gear… (I love climbing stuff, but haven't done much roped, and never with light gear.)

I've got my eye on the Camp HMS Nitro or Petzl Attache 3D. According to the websites, the only difference in claimed spec is that the former has a 21mm gate opening, the latter 22mm. So, from that information and the descriptions, the Petzl looks the better option to me. They do look quite similar.

Questions I'm pondering:
    -would it be worth getting a less "UL" option, something with a less cutaway cross section for say 10-15g? (non-"3D" Attache is an example)
    -how thin of a rope would I need to go for a "super" (double) munter to fit?
    -does a double munter significantly reduce twisting and kinking when used loaded? (compared to standard munter)
    -should I care about the symmetry? (this eliminates a few UL HMS biners)

Well, that should be enough blather for now! Thanks a bunch for any feedback!

David Chenault
    BPL Member

@davec

Locale: Queen City, MT