Topic

Windshirts and warmth

Forum Posting

A Membership is required to post in the forums. Login or become a member to post in the member forums!

Home Forums Gear Forums Gear (General) Windshirts and warmth

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 10 posts - 1 through 10 (of 10 total)
  • Author
    Linda Alvarez
    BPL Member

@liniac

Locale: Southern California

Ok, I'm new to the idea of windshirts but having read far too many threads on these message boards I'm more and more intrigued by the idea. However, I still have a few questions and would love some clarification from those who use this piece of gear.

1) Does a windshirt add any appreciable warmth in a sitting-around-camp situation, or is its value more in adding warmth (and water resistance) and preventing condensation under physical exertion? What about to a sleeping system?

2) if the answer to either of the above is "yes" then how do you size it for layering when also using a down sweater/jacket? would you buy one small enough to go under a parka (over your base layer) or large enough to be layered over the down and not compress it? Or am I missing the point that those are mutually exclusive layers i.e. you'd wear windshirt as your outermost layer when moving (assuming dry conditions) and then when you are in-camp you'd switch it out for down?