Topic

What to wear for mount whotney

Forum Posting

A Membership is required to post in the forums. Login or become a member to post in the member forums!

Home Forums Gear Forums Gear (General) What to wear for mount whotney

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 19 posts - 1 through 19 (of 19 total)
  • Author
    roberto nahue
    BPL Member

@carspidey

Locale: san fernando valley

Hello all.

I'm new to bakpacking and in may 20 I'm going to go for my first two nighter to mt Whitney.

I pretty much have my gear for three season and last time that same gear worked in the low 20's last time.

I don't know what to expect in this place. Help?

I guess it would help if I tell you what I have.

30f wm megalite
    Very basic thermals
    Golite ether wind jacket
    Really light fleece jacket 1/4 zip – thin
    A litle heavier full zip fleece jacket
    Synthetic ls base layers

The above is pretty much it.

JERRY WELTER

@bigjerr

Locale: high country

Im no expert ,but this year I just dont see it. are you shure its May? if so that seems a bit early in the season ,lots a snow and ice and thats in June .I think your going to need more insulation …Jerry

roberto nahue
    BPL Member

@carspidey

Maybe that's why the person in charge of getting the permits got them with no problem for that date.

What else should I take?

Jason G
    BPL Member

@jasong

Locale: iceberg lake

little more info plz. Are you trying to camp on the summit? do you have snow gear? ice axe, crampons?

i was up there mid august last summer and people who started the summit hike at midnight in shorts and tshirt and maybe a light wind shirt and were fine hiking up but once at the summit with convulsing with shivers at around 6-9am and had to retreat to the hut to stay warm.